Day 2 – David Suzuki 30 x 30 Nature Challenge

robin's egg

We found this in the garden. The little robin inside hatched and here is the lovely little souvenir it left behind.

I went home for the weekend, and spent my 30 minutes in nature gardening with my mom. We filled up a chin-high paper bag of dandelions! 

I saw my own two hands doing something productive and enjoyable. I relaxed. The simple pleasure of a relaxing moment can mean so much when you’ve spent some time in the thick of anxiety! If there is anything good about my mental health issue, maybe it’s becoming able to appreciate the beauty of mental health, of all the parts of my miraculous brain working in harmony. To know that even the worst anxiety is just my body trying to protect me. To discover that I really do care about myself, after all.

Maybe this challenge is nature meditation for the spazzed-out city girl brain? All I know is, it was deliciously springy – the highlight of my day…again! 

Leave a Reply

