Le Advice from Madam Le Strange

trigger warning: shocking lack of sensitivity with regards to mental health, belittling, questionable figure of authority


From an anxiety/depression group director, when I told her my therapist strongly encouraged me to find additional intensive treatment, and I wondered if she could provide me with any information, being that she is part of the psychiatry department at a major hospital.

I think all you really need is a good YOGA INSTRUCTOR. That should do the trick.Β 

As she smiled serenely, and I stared disbelievingly.

You can kiss my downward dog, Madam Le Strange.

Image

…but if you want to pay for me to go on an all-inclusive beach yoga retreat, I will gladly oblige you! πŸ˜‰ from http://www.self.com/flash/tone-it-up/2013/05/toneitup-work-your-abs-butt-and-chest/

 

 

 

25 Comments

    • I was trying to be facetious πŸ˜› yes I have and I like yoga! But for a health care professional who I’m asking for referrals to health care services to tell me to ‘find a good yoga instructor’ well as I say – it better be darn good yoga (better than any i’ve done so far! and yoga is pretty good) and she better be paying for my healing yogi one-on-ones

      *spoiler, she isn’t

    • It would have been professional, non-minimizing, if she had even said, “look, I’m not aware of resources that you’re looking for, but I DO know of a yoga instructor/mindfulness practitioner that has experience applying their skills towards anxiety”.
      But, sensuousamberville, that is not what Madam LeStrange said. What she said is, well, displayed above.

  1. Sometimes people assume, perhaps she tried to offer advice but didn’t follow through in a caring fashion. In her mind she, maybe saw more than she put to words. So, following through, have you practiced mindfulness? When anxiety becomes overpowering, it can be very helpful. it can also used to allow you to overcome your triggers in a CBT based therapy.

    *hugs*
    Amber

      • Mindfulness can be very difficult, more so when panic or anxiety is ruling your mind, but this is when it can allow you to regain your mind. Practicing it often, just as so with breathing, so that both become tools you can draw on with little effort, so they become instinctive, will allow you to face down triggers and overcome them.

        Will you run into her again? Perhaps you can ask her to explain things so her suggestions become valid. I suppose smacking her first to get her attention is a bad thing. πŸ˜‰

      • I’m sorry, I don’t intend to run into her or get her clarification ever again. Please know that I’m not knocking mindfulness, which it looks like is a really important part of your practice (as I recall, you’re a counselor or psychologist?). Breathing better when panicky, meditation, yoga, are all great! That lady wasn’t. I’m happy to hear your advice on those matters though Amber πŸ™‚

      • Psychologist yes, both mindfulness and breathing are the the key tools used to overcome your stressors, They can seem sort of silly when you practice them, more so with mindfulness, but that narrow focus of thoughts allows you to push anxiety aside, it is a great way to get to sleep. The more you practice it, the easier it becomes, at first the result is not as powerful as breathing can be, but with more control over your thoughts, it becomes a powerful tool, one of many.

      • Absolutely, I don’t find it silly at all actually! Particularly the muscle relaxation is great. Getting to sleep isn’t much of a problem for me recently though, it’s getting into bed, and then quality of sleep (I have multiple nightmares every night) My favourite meditation is also, I believe, mindfulness based.

      • Yeah it’s a possibility. I’m confused about the definitions? I did some googling and I would say I have bad nightmares, multiple each night. I have flashes of them the next day/days. Night terrors are sort of..like when a child can’t sleep and is afraid of monsters under the bed only at night? That’s what I understand from google, it’s not what happens with me.

      • No, when I wake up, I can move and get back to sleep – though I’m usually shaky I’m definitely tired. It’s in the morning that I’m still very tired no matter how long I slept, and as always prone to fears of many kinds. I think the only time what you describe has happened to me it was as a result of some medicine that didn’t work for me.

      • yeah for sure you’re right! yes many do follow a similar theme. i just can’t afford an independent therapist right now, and during the school year i just didn’t have the time/energy for much talk about dreams. which is why i’m excited that i got accepted as a patient into that health centre! πŸ™‚

    • I was introduced to mindfulness from a therapist I had, myself. What I really liked about it, actually, is that it strikes me as a simple, easy to follow approach to meditation. I had read that it was based in Buddhism, but in my studies of the Eastern paths, I would not be terribly surprised that it goes further back to yoga.

      By contrast, as I consider myself a philosophical Taoist, I looked into Taoist water meditation. But the book that was recommended to me was very difficult to parse. I showed it to my wife and she said that the author seemed like he was expecting to quiz us on it later.

      • hahaha ” the author seemed like he was expecting to quiz us on it later”. brilliant. Mindfulness is really good, however recently I was told by a new doctor that my problem sounds much more like PTSD, and that is why it isn’t responding too well to mindfulness type treatments. Not that they do not help, but they help in a “band-aid solution” sense, I find – they don’t address the root cause.

  2. Thanks again for your thoughts on my recent post… I figured I’d share some of my own here.

    First, I can relate to what you’re saying. I’ve heard professionals say some pretty strange and bizarre things in my 30 years in the system. That’s what got me reading Aussa’s blog, actually; she’s described so many things that are so strikingly similar to what I’ve observed (but she’s compassionate and real about it). Hence we’ve discussed a few of my crazy stories.

    I tried yoga, but I was not at all prepared for studio culture. It wasn’t on advice from a professional, but that’s a story for another time. I will just conclude that yes, it’s frustrating when mental health professionals are insensitive and not terribly helpful.

Leave a Reply

